WZL - Pressemitteilung

 

Professor Dr.-Ing. Thomas Bergs takes over chair for manufacturing technology

After 23 years, Professor Dr.-Ing. Dr.-Ing. E. H. Dr. h.c. Dr. h.c. Fritz Klocke hands over chair for manufacturing technology at the Laboratory for Machine Tools and Production Engineering (WZL) of RWTH Aachen University on June 1, 2018 to Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thomas Bergs, MBA.

Professor Bergs studied mechanical engineering with a focus on design engineering at the RWTH Aachen University. From 1995 to 2001, he was a research assistant at the Fraunhofer Institute for Production Technology IPT in Aachen in the Process Technology department. His work focused on laser-assisted cutting. In 2000, he became head of the Laser Technology Group and Business Unit Manager of "Aachener Werkzeug- und Formenbau". Since the beginning of 2001 he has been Managing Director of the Fraunhofer IPT. His doctorate took place in November 2001.

On 01.06.2018, he was appointed university professor of chair for manufacturing technology at the Laboratory for Machine Tools and Production Engineering (WZL) of RWTH Aachen University and appointed member of the board at Laboratory for Machine Tools and Production Engineering (WZL) of RWTH Aachen University and Fraunhofer-Institute for Production Technology IPT.


© Fraunhofer IPT

We wish Professor Bergs success for his new task and welcome him to the WZL.

Presseinformation als Download

WZL - Pressemitteilung

 

Professor Dr.-Ing. Thomas Bergs übernimmt Lehrstuhl für Technologie der Fertigungsverfahren

Nach 23 Jahren übergibt Professor Dr.-Ing. Dr.-Ing. E.h. Dr. h.c. Dr. h.c. Fritz Klocke die Leitung des Lehrstuhls für Technologie der Fertigungsverfahren am Werkzeugmaschinenlabor WZL der RWTH Aachen University zum 01. Juni 2018 an Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thomas Bergs, MBA.

Professor Bergs studierte Maschinenbau mit dem Schwerpunkt Konstruktionstechnik an der RWTH Aachen University. Im Anschluss war er von 1995 bis 2001 wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Fraunhofer-Institut für Produktionstechnologie IPT in Aachen in der Abteilung Prozesstechnologie. Seine Arbeitsschwerpunkte lagen dabei im Bereich der laserunterstützenden Zerspanung. Im Jahr 2000 wurde er Leiter der Gruppe Lasertechnik und Geschäftsfeldleiter des „Aachener Werkzeug- und Formenbau“. Seit Anfang 2001 ist er geschäftsführender Oberingenieur des Fraunhofer IPT. Seine Promotion erfolgte im November 2001.

Zum 01.06.2018 erfolgte die Berufung zum Universitätsprofessor an den Lehrstuhl für Technologie der Fertigungsverfahren an der RWTH Aachen sowie seine Ernennung zum Mitglied des Direktoriums am Werkzeugmaschinenlabor WZL der RWTH Aachen und Fraunhofer-Instituts für Produktionstechnologie IPT.



Wir wünschen Professor Bergs viel Erfolg für seine neue Aufgabe und heißen ihn am WZL herzlich Willkommen.

Presseinformation als Download