Press

 

WZL and DFKI to cooperate in new research environment

Cognitive Manufacturing Lab (CML)

The Cognitive Manufacturing Lab (CML) is a research environment jointly supported by the Chair of Manufacturing Technology at the Laboratory for Machine Tools and Production Engineering WZL at the RWTH Aachen University and the Smart Service Engineering Research Unit at the German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence (DFKI), in which innovative concepts of AI-based production environments are investigated from the point of view of production technology, artificial intelligence and business management in simulated as well as real environments.


Research environment for a self-adaptive, modular production environment
© WZL / Winandy

The aim is to bring together a broad-based, excellent research with industrial users. The purpose is to advance breakthroughs in the application of artificial intelligence in modern production in an interdisciplinary and collaborative way and to put them into practice in a sustainable way.

"The CML should thus become an internationally leading driver of the digital transformation of the production industry in relation to industry 4.0 and beyond," says Professor Wolfgang Maaß, Scientific Director of the Smart Service Engineering Research Unit at DFKI in Saarbrücken.

The topics „self-adaptive, modular production environments“; „trust, security and efficiency especially through Edge AI in production environments“; „resilience management of production environments and networks“; „marketplace for trading data products (economy & technology)“ as well as „natural-immersive human-machine communication and cooperation“ will be researched together. The first priority is the joint development of the virtual Cognitive Manufacturing Lab in order to subsequently involve other subject areas, professors, faculties and research departments of DFKI and RWTH Aachen University.

"The CML represents an important milestone for innovative and future-oriented manufacturing technology at the RWTH Aachen Campus, in particular with the inclusion of key technologies such as 5G, artificial intelligence and blockchain. We are very proud of the cooperation with Professor Maaß and his team from DFKI in Saarbrücken," says Professor Thomas Bergs, Chair of Manufacturing Technology and Director of the Laboratory for Machine Tools and Production Engineering WZL at RWTH Aachen University.


fltr: Dr.-Ing. Daniel Trauth (Chief Engineer at the Chair of Manufacturing Technology (MT) of the Laboratory for Machine Tools and Production Engineering WZL of RWTH Aachen University and Head of the Digital Transformation of Manufacturing Processes Division), Philipp Niemietz (Research Associate and Head of the Digital Transformation of Forming Processes Group at the Chair MT of WZL), Hannah Stein (Research Associate at DFKI Saarbrücken), Dr.-Ing. Patrick Mattfeld (Executive Chief Engineer at the Chair for MT of the WZL), Dr.-Ing. Sabine Janzen (Senior Researcher at the DFKI in Saarbrücken), Professor Wolfgang Maaß (Scientific Director of the Smart Service Engineering Research Unit at the DFKI in Saarbrücken)
© DFKI, WZL

Contact WZL:
Dr.-Ing. Dipl.-Wirt.Ing. Daniel Trauth
Phone: +49 241 80 27999
D.Trauth@wzl.rwth-aachen.de

Contact DFKI:
Dr.-Ing. Sabine Janzen
Phone: +49 681 85775 5269
Sabine.Janzen@dfki.de

Download pressrelease

WZL - Pressemitteilung

 

WZL und DFKI kooperieren in neuer Forschungsumgebung

Das Cognitive Manufacturing Lab (CML)

Das Cognitive Manufacturing Lab (CML) ist eine vom Lehrstuhl für Technologie der Fertigungsverfahren am Werkzeugmaschinenlabor WZL der RWTH Aachen University und des Forschungsbereichs Smart Service Engineering am Deutschen Forschungszentrums für Künstliche Intelligenz (DFKI) gemeinsam getragene Forschungsumgebung, in der innovative Konzepte KI-basierter Produktionsumgebungen aus Sicht der Produktionstechnik, der Künstlichen Intelligenz und Betriebswirtschaft in simulierten und Realumgebungen untersucht werden.


Forschungsumgebung für eine selbstadaptive, modulare Produktionsumgebung
© WZL / Winandy

Ziel ist das Zusammenbringen einer breit angelegten, exzellenten Forschung mit industriellen Anwendern. Damit sollen Durchbrüche in der Anwendung künstlicher Intelligenz in der modernen Produktion interdisziplinär und kollaborativ vorangetrieben und nachhaltig in die Praxis überführt werden.

„Das CML soll so zu einem international führenden Treiber der digitalen Transformation der Produktionsindustrie in Bezug auf Industrie 4.0 und darüber hinaus werden,“ so Professor Wolfgang Maaß, wissenschaftlicher Direktor des Forschungsbereichs Smart Service Engineering am DFKI in Saarbrücken.

Gemeinsam werden die Themenfelder selbstadaptive, modulare Produktionsumgebungen; Vertrauen, Sicherheit und Effizienz insbesondere durch Edge AI in Produktionsumgebungen; Resilienzmanagement von Produktionsumgebungen und –netzwerken; Marktplatz zum Handel von Datenprodukten (Ökonomie & Technologie) sowie natürlich-immersive Mensch-Maschine-Kommunikation und –zusammenarbeit erforscht. An erster Stelle steht der gemeinsame Aufbau des virtuellen Cognitive Manufacturing Lab um anschließend weitere Themenfelder, Professoren, Fakultäten sowie Forschungsbereiche des DFKI als auch der RWTH Aachen hinzuzuziehen.

„Mit dem CML wird am Standort Aachen ein wichtiger Meilenstein für innovative und zukunftsorientierte Fertigungstechnik, insbesondere unter Einbeziehung von Schlüsseltechnologien wie 5G, Künstliche Intelligenz und Blockchain, gelegt. Wir sind sehr stolz auf die Kooperation mit Professor Maaß und seinem Team vom DFKI in Saarbrücken,“ so Professor Thomas Bergs, Leiter des Lehrstuhls für Technologie der Fertigungsverfahren und Direktor am Werkzeugmaschinenlabor WZL der RWTH Aachen University.


vlnr: Dr.-Ing. Daniel Trauth (Oberingenieur am Lehrstuhl für Technologie der Fertigungsverfahren des Werk-zeugmaschinenlabors WZL der RWTH Aachen und Leiter des Bereichs Digitale Transformation von Fertigungsver-fahren), Philipp Niemietz (Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter und Leiter der Gruppe Digitale Transformation von Um-formprozessen am Lehrstuhl TF des WZL), Hannah Stein (Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeitern am DFKI Saarbrücken), Dr.-Ing. Patrick Mattfeld (Geschäftsführender Oberingenieur am Lehrstuhl für TF des WZL), Dr.-Ing. Sabine Janzen (Senior Researcher am DFKI in Saarbrücken), Professor Wolfgang Maaß (wissenschaftlicher Direktor des For-schungsbereichs Smart Service Engineering am DFKI in Saarbrücken)
© DFKI, WZL

Kontakt WZL:
Dr.-Ing. Dipl.-Wirt.Ing. Daniel Trauth
Tel: +49 241 80 27999
D.Trauth@wzl.rwth-aachen.de

Kontakt DFKI:
Dr.-Ing. Sabine Janzen
Tel: +49 681 85775 5269
Sabine.Janzen@dfki.de

Presseinformation als Download