Hard Finishing

 

The increasing requirements regarding load-carrying capacity and noise behavior have led to the use of case-hardened gears in high performance applications. In order to correct distortions from heat treatment and to meet the geometric requirements, case-hardened gears are hard finished. For the hard finishing several high performance processes with undefined cutting edges are available. The dominating processes in the industrial application are gear honing, discontinuous profile gear grinding and continuous generating gear grinding.
In the industrial environment, the design of grinding and dressing processes is usually based on experience. In time- and cost-intensive empirical investigations, suitable process parameters are determined for each workpiece geometry and grinding wheel specification. The derived process parameters may not lead to the maximum productivity of the grinding process. Due to imperfect dressing parameters or dressing intervals, unnecessary grinding wheel consumption may occur.

An optimized design of the grinding and dressing process requires an extensive technological understanding of the cause-effect relationships of the processes. To determine the cause-effect relationships, the gear grinding processes are scientifically investigated at the WZL. Since complex kinematics are part of the gear grinding process, analogy processes for continuous generating gear grinding, discontinuous profile gear grinding and gear honing have been developed at the WZL. Partial aspects of the gear grinding processes can be investigated and analyzed separately from each other by using these analogy processes. Therefore, with the analogy processes a deeper scientific understanding of the gear grinding processes is generated, thus enables a knowledge-based process design.


 
 

Grinding Worm Wear in Generating Gear Grinding

Process designs in generating gear grinding are performed by users and machine manufacturers in several iterations. Usually the performance and productivity is optimized, without analyzing the the cause-effect relationships. more...

 

 
 

Cutting Force Model for Bevel Gear Grinding

Due to the increasingly high requirements for gear drives, hard fine machining of gears is necessary in many cases. Bevel gear grinding is applied in particular in the production of gears with high geometric quality demands, such as in automotive transmissions. more...

 

 
 

Process Machine Interaction in Gear Honing

During gear honing, different contact conditions exist depending on gear geometry and process design. These contact conditions directly affect the process forces and the machine excitation. more...

 

 
 

Cutting Force Model for Generating Gear Grinding

State of the art for optimizing the load carrying capacity and noise reduction of case hardened gears is the hard fine machining after heat treatment. One option for hard fine machining is the generating gear grinding process, which is widely applied in industry due to its high productivity and accuracy. more...

Hartfeinbearbeitung

 

Die stetig steigenden Leistungsanforderungen an Zahnräder erfordern eine spanende Hartfeinbearbeitung mit geometrisch unbestimmter Schneide, um den auftretenden Härteverzug zu korrigieren und den Forderungen an die Qualität zu genügen. Zur Hartfeinbearbeitung der gehärteten Zahnräder stehen eine Vielzahl geeigneter Verfahren wie z. B. Verzahnungshonen, diskontinuierliches Profilschleifen und kontinuierliches Wälzschleifen zur Verfügung.
Im industriellen Umfeld erfolgt die Auslegung von Schleif- und Abrichtprozessen in der Regel erfahrungsbasiert. Geeignete Prozessparameter werden für jede Werkstückgeometrie und Schleifscheibenspezifikation in zeit- und kostenintensiven empirischen Untersuchungen ermittelt. Bei den abgeleiteten Prozessparametern ist nicht bekannt, ob diese im Bereich des Produktivitätsmaximums liegen. Aufgrund nicht optimaler Abrichtparameter oder Abrichtintervallen folgt zudem unter Umständen ein unnötiger Schleifscheibenverbrauch.

Eine optimierte Auslegung von Schleif- und Abrichtprozessen erfordert ein weitreichendes technologisches Verständnis über die Ursache-Wirkzusammenhänge der Prozesse. Zur Ermittlung der Ursache-Wirkzusammenhänge werden am WZL die verschiedenen Schleifprozesse wissenschaftlich untersucht. Da den Verzahnungsschleifprozessen meist eine komplexe Kinematik zugrunde liegt, wurden am WZL bereits Analogieprozesse für das kontinuierliche Wälzschleifen, für das diskontinuierliche Profilschleifen und für das Verzahnungshonen entwickelt. Mithilfe dieser Analogieprozesse können Teilaspekte der Verzahnungsschleifprozesse isoliert voneinander untersucht und analysiert werden, um ein besseres wissenschaftliches Verständnis der Verzahnungsschleifprozesse zu generieren und somit eine wissensbasierte Prozessauslegung zu ermöglichen.


 
 

Schleifschneckenverschleiß beim kontinuierlichen Wälzschleifen

Prozessauslegungen beim kontinuierlichen Wälzschleifen werden von Anwendern und Maschinenherstellern in mehreren Iterationen durchgeführt. Dabei wird meist eine Optimierung der Leistungsfähigkeit und Produktivität angestrebt, ohne die... Mehr...

 

 
 

Zerspankraftmodell Kelgelradschleifen

Aufgrund zunehmend hoher Anforderungen an Zahnradgetriebe kann auf die Hartfeinbearbeitung von Verzahnungen in vielen Fällen nicht verzichtet werden. Das Kegelradschleifen kommt insbesondere bei der Herstellung von Verzahnungen mit hohen Anforderungen Mehr...

 

 
 

Prozess-Maschine-Interaktion Verzahnungshonen

Beim Honen von Verzahnungen liegen abhängig von der Zahnradgeometrie und der Prozessführung lokal unterschiedliche Kontaktbedingungen vor. Die lokalen Kontaktbedingungen beeinflussen direkt die Prozesskräfte und die Maschinenanregung. Die Zusammenhänge sind bisher nicht hinreichend beschrieben. Daher kann... Mehr...

 

 
 

Zerspankraftmodell kontinuierliches Wälzschleifen

Zur Verbesserung der Tragfähigkeit und der Laufruhe von Verzahnungen ist es Stand der Technik, einsatzgehärtete Verzahnungen nach der Wärmebehandlung abschließend hartfein zu bearbeiten. Eine Möglichkeit für die Hartfeinbearbeitung ist das kontinuierliche Wälzschleifen,... Mehr...