WZL Gear Toolbox

 

Based on the research in the WZL gear department calculation models and methods are developed for decades. Beneath accepted and validated tools a special focus is the usability in the software development process. For reaching this target, the standardized graphical user interface “WZL Gear Toolbox” is published each year including the software tools from the WZL gear research circle. The latest version includes the tools GearGen, BevelCut, SPARTApro, GearGRIND and ZaKo3D including µOpt and is available exclusively for members of the WZL gear research circle. The strict implementation of standardized interfaces, uniform data formats and profound modularization enables the compatibility of one tool another. By this implementation, simulated geometrics and characteristic values are comparable and a short training period for each program is guaranteed. Furthermore, the results of one program can be an input for another program. Therefore, influences of manufacturing related deviations to the running behavior can be analyzed directly. Additional to result visualization, the WZL gear toolbox includes an export interface to several programs such as Microsoft Excel. Common data formats such as data from gear measurement machines can be imported as well. All tools can be operated by either the graphical user interface or an ASCII interface for integration in existing workflows.

Apart from the continuous extension of the tool for additional processes, gear and tool types or characteristic values, a focus is the usability. The feedback of the WZL gear research members, who are using the tools in research and development, is essential for reaching these targets.




Your contact:
Jens Brimmers, M.Sc. M.Sc.
 
Manfred-Weck-Haus 114
Tel.: +49 241 80-27737
Fax: +49 241 80-22293
Mail: J.Brimmers@wzl.rwth-aachen.de

 



 
 

GearGen

An essential component in gear calculation is the gear geometry. Based on the geometry, manufacturing simulations as well as tooth contact analysis are realized. The WZL gear research circle has an efficient geometry generator with the tool GearGenerator for cylindrical and beveloid gears, worms and racks, which can be symmetrical and asymmetrical. more...

 

 
 

Force Coupling Element

The developed simulation model is intended to provide the user with a method for determining the dynamically effective forces in gear mesh. These dynamic excitation forces can then be used to take into account and optimize the dynamic behavior of gears in the drive train. more...

 

 
 

STIRAK

The FE-based tooth contact analysis “FE-Stirnradkette” (FE-cylindrical gear calculation chain) enables a manufacturing and operational-focussed design of cylindrical gears due to the exact modelling of the gears macro and micro geometry, as well as a fast variant calculation option. more...

 

 
 

ZaKo3D and μOpt

In addition to manufacturing, the WZL Gearbox Circle has for more than 20 years now also been able to carry out tooth contact analysis. The WZL Gear Toolbox offers a general FE-based tooth contact analysis ZaKo3D, with which detailed analysis of the application behaviour can be carried out under load or free of load. more...

 

 
 

SPARTApro

SPARTApro offers the possibility of fully modeling and simulating the hobbing process and form milling in a geometric penetration calculation. more...

 

 
 

GearGRIND

The process analysis for generating gear grinding GearGRIND simulates chip characteristics, gear geometry, characteristic parameters for grinding and cutting forces of helical gears and beveloid gears. more...

 

 
 

BevelCut

Bevel Cut is a simulation program for analyzing the manufacturing process of bevel gear cutting. Calculated characteristic values are various chip parameters such as chip thickness, length or volume. more...

WZL Gear Toolbox

 

Aufbauend auf der Forschungsarbeit der WZL-Getriebeabteilung werden seit Jahrzehnten stetig optimierte Berechnungsmodelle und –methodiken entwickelt. Neben anerkannten und validierten Tools steht die Anwendbarkeit und Bedienerfreundlichkeit im Fokus der Softwareentwicklung. Um dies zu erreichen, erscheint seit dem Jahr 2010 jährlich die einheitliche Benutzeroberfläche „WZL Gear Toolbox“ für die im Getriebekreis verfügbaren Programme. In der aktuellen Version sind die Programme GearGen, BevelCut, SPARTApro, GearGRIND sowie ZaKo3D inklusive µOpt für die Mitglieder des Getriebekreises verfügbar. Die konsequente Umsetzung standardisierter Schnittstellen, einheitlicher Datenformate und tiefgreifender Modularisierung erlaubt eine vollständige Kompatibilität der verschiedenen Programme untereinander. Auf diese Weise ist es möglich, simulierte Geometrien und Kennwerte miteinander zu vergleichen sowie eine geringe Einarbeitungszeit beim Wechsel zwischen den Programmen zu erreichen. Ebenso ist es möglich, Ergebnisse eines Programms als Eingangsdaten für ein weiteres Programm zu nutzen. Somit besteht beispielsweise die unmittelbare Möglichkeit, den Einfluss fertigungsbedingter Abweichungen auf das Einsatzverhalten zu bewerten. Neben der Ergebnisvisualisierung verfügt die WZL Gear Toolbox über eine Export-Funktion in beliebige weitere Programme wie z. B. Microsoft Excel. Ebenfalls sind Importe aus gängigen Formaten, wie z. B. von Verzahnungsmesszentren, möglich. Alle Programme können neben der Benutzeroberfläche auch über eine ASCII-Schnittstelle angesteuert werden, sodass sich die Programme in bestehende Workflows eingliedern lassen.

Neben der kontinuierlichen Erweiterung der Programme um weitere Prozesse, Zahnradformen, Werkzeugarten oder zusätzliche Kennwerte legen wir einen großen Wert auf die Benutzerfreundlichkeit. Dies gelingt nur durch das Feedback der Mitglieder des WZL-Getriebekreises aus dem täglichen Einsatz der Software in Forschung und Entwicklung.




Ansprechpartner(in):
Jens Brimmers, M.Sc. M.Sc.
 
Manfred-Weck-Haus 114
Tel.: +49 241 80-27737
Fax: +49 241 80-22293
Mail: J.Brimmers@wzl.rwth-aachen.de

 



 
 

GearGen

Ein wichtiger Baustein für Zahnradberechnungen stellt die Zahngeometrie dar. Auf dieser Grundlage werden sowohl Fertigungssimulationen als auch Zahnkontaktsimulationen durchgeführt. Mit dem GearGenerator verfügt der WZL Getriebekreis über eine leistungsfähige Software zur Geometrieerzeugung. Mehr...

 

 
 

Kraftkoppelelement

Das entwickelte Simulationsmodell soll dem Anwender eine Methode zur Ermittlung der dynamisch wirksamen Kräfte im Zahneingriff liefern. Diese dynamischen Anregungskräfte können dann zur Berücksichtigung und Optimierung des dynamischen Verhaltens von Verzahnungen im Antriebsstrang genutzt werden. Mehr...

 

 
 

STIRAK

Die FE-basierte Zahnkontaktanalyse „FE-Stirnradkette“, kurz STIRAK, ermöglicht durch die exakte Abbildung von Verzahnungsmakro- und –mikrogeometrie, sowie der schnellen Variantenrechnung eine fertigungs- und funktionsorientierte Auslegung von Stirnrädern. Mehr...

 

 
 

ZaKo3D und μOpt

Neben der Fertigung verfügt der WZL Getriebekreis seit mehr als 20 Jahren über Möglichkeiten der Zahnkontaktanalyse. Über die WZL Gear Toolbox wird eine allgemeine FE-basierte Zahnkontaktanalyse ZaKo3D angeboten, mit der umfangreiche Analysen des Einsatzverhaltens lastfrei oder unter Last ausgeführt werden können. Mehr...

 

 
 

SPARTApro

SPARTApro bietet die Möglichkeit, den Wälzfräsprozess und das Formfräsen in einer geometrischen Durchdringungsrechnung vollständig abzubilden und zu simulieren. Mehr...

 

 
 

GearGRIND

Die Prozessanalyse für das kontinuierliche Wälzschleifen GearGRIND3D berechnet Spanungskenngrößen, die Zahnradgeometrie, charakteristische Kennwerte für das Schleifen und Zerspankräfte von Stirnradverzahnungen und Beveloidverzahnungen. Mehr...

 

 
 

BevelCut

BevelCut ist ein Simulationsprogramm zur Analyse des Fertigungsprozesses beim Kegelradfräsen. Berechnete Kennwerte sind diverse Spanungskenngrößen, wie Spanungsdicke, -längen oder -volumen. Mehr...