Contact


Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thomas Bergs
Professor, Director
Cluster Produktionstechnik 3A 538
Tel.: +49 241 80-27401
Fax: +49 241 80-22359
Mail: T.Bergs@wzl.rwth-aachen.de

 

Markus Meurer, M.Sc. RWTH
Workgroup Leader
Cluster Produktionstechnik 3A 254
Tel.: +49 241 80-28040
Fax: +49 241 80-22293
Mail: M.Meurer@wzl.rwth-aachen.de

 

AWK

 

Aachen Machine Tool Colloquium (AWK)



For 70 years now, the Aachen Machine Tool Colloquium (AWK) has been the most important knowledge hub for production technology. Current research results, new developments and trends in production technology are the focus of the event, which is expected to attract over 1,000 participants* from all over the world to Aachen every three years.

The date for the AWK2020 has already been set: 14 and 15 May 2020 at the Eurogress Aachen. All information on the programme contents will follow shortly.

The production engineers from Aachen will present new concepts and strategies and report on their current experiences in their implementation. The special focus of the AWK is on the opportunities and possibilities of the "Internet of Production" as the core of industry 4.0. The programme will be rounded off by an accompanying industrial exhibition, extensive visits to institutes and break-out sessions. The AWK aims to comprehensively reflect on current developments, to highlight previously untapped potential and to point the way to a successful future for production technology.

Internet of Production
To implement the Internet of Production, Aachen’s highly renowned researchers in production engineering, computer science, materials engineering and further necessary disciplines have teamed up to respond to interdisciplinary challenges, such as the integration of reduced production engineering models into data-driven machine learning for cross-domain knowledge generation and context-adaptive action. The infrastructure of the Internet of Production will be leveraged by the production engineers in order to support a new way of more holistic working on – and with – systems by developing and advancing engineering tools, methods and processes. To this end, an integrated development is required for all aspects of production technology. Aachen – as the place where the Internet of Production originated – is characterized by an extraordinary range and outstanding reputation in production research.

History of the Aachen Machine Tool Colloquium AWK
When Professor Herwart Opitz called for the first Aachen Machine Tool Colloquium (AWK) in 1948, nobody was aware that he was laying the foundation stone for one of the most important congress events in production technology. Opitz's goal was to make up for the gap in research created by the war years compared to the Americans and to re-establish broken contacts with companies in the manufacturing industry.

Despite much resistance, the first AWK with around 250 participants was already a great success. The number of participants at subsequent events rose rapidly. Today, the organizers can look back on more than 70 years of AWK and thus on more than 70 years of trend-setting impulses for production technology.

As early as 1971, Professor Herwart Opitz remarked in his opening speech: "The name "Machine Tool Colloquium" is actually no longer as true today as it was in earlier times. The integration of production technology is on the advance, and so we have to deal with the questions of economic planning, design and manufacturing. The machine tool is a link in this integration chain, the particular significance of which is still to be emphasized." What he recognized almost 50 years ago is still fully valid today.

Kontakt


Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thomas Bergs
Professor, Direktor
Cluster Produktionstechnik 3A 538
Tel.: +49 241 80-27401
Fax: +49 241 80-22359
Mail: T.Bergs@wzl.rwth-aachen.de

 

Markus Meurer, M.Sc. RWTH
Gruppenleiter(in)
Cluster Produktionstechnik 3A 254
Tel.: +49 241 80-28040
Fax: +49 241 80-22293
Mail: M.Meurer@wzl.rwth-aachen.de

 

AWK

 

Aachener Werkzeugmaschinen-Kolloquium



Seit nunmehr 70 Jahren ist das Aachener Werkzeugmaschinen-Kolloquium (AWK) die bedeutendste Wissensdrehscheibe der Produktionstechnik. Aktuelle Forschungsergebnisse, neue Entwicklungen und Trends in der Produktionstechnik stehen im Mittelpunkt der Veranstaltung, zu der alle drei Jahre über 1.000 Teilnehmer*innen aus aller Welt in Aachen erwartet werden.

Der Termin für das AWK2020 steht bereits fest: 14. und 15. Mai 2020 im Eurogress Aachen. Alle Informationen zu Programminhalten folgen in Kürze.

Die Aachener Produktionstechniker zeigen neue Konzepte und Strategien auf und berichten über ihre aktuellen Erfahrungen in der Umsetzung. Der besondere Fokus des AWK liegt auf den Chancen und Möglichkeiten des „Internet of Production“ als Kernstück der Industrie 4.0. Abgerundet wird das Programm durch eine begleitende Industrieausstellung, umfangreiche Institutsbesichtigungen und BreakOut-Sessions. Das AWK stellt sich dem Anspruch, die aktuellen Entwicklungen umfassend zu reflektieren, bislang unerschlossene Potenziale aufzuzeigen und Wege in eine erfolgreiche Zukunft der Produktionstechnik zu weisen.

Internet of Production
Zur Umsetzung des Internet of Production haben sich Aachens renommierte Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus Produktionstechnik, Informatik, Werkstoffwissenschaften sowie weiterer erforderlicher Wissenschaftsgebiete formiert. Gemeinsam werden die interdisziplinären Herausforderungen, wie die Integration von reduzierten produktionstechnischen Modellen in daten-getriebenes Machine Learning zum domänenübergreifenden Wissensaufbau und zu kontext-adaptiven Handlungen, adressiert. Die Infrastruktur des Internet of Production stellt die Basis für neue Methoden des ganzheitlichen Arbeitens dar, indem ingenieurswissenschaftliche Methoden und Prozesse entwickelt und verbessert werden. Hierfür ist ein integrierter Ansatz in der Produktionstechnik erforderlich. Aachen als Ausgangspunkt für das Internet of Production ist durch eine einzigartige Breite und ein herausragendes Ansehen in der Produktionsforschung geprägt.


Historie des Aachener Werkzeugmaschinen-Kolloquiums AWK
Als Professor Herwart Opitz im Jahr 1948 zum ersten Aachener Werkzeugmaschinen-Kolloquium (AWK) aufrief, war wohl noch niemandem bewusst, dass er damit den Grundstein zu einer der bedeutendsten Kongress-Veranstaltungen der Produktionstechnik legte. Opitz hatte das Ziel vor Augen, den Rückstand in der Forschung, der durch die Kriegsjahre gegenüber den Amerikanern entstanden war, aufzuholen und abgebrochene Kontakte zu den Unternehmen der produzierenden Industrie neu zu knüpfen.

Vielen Widerständen zum Trotz war bereits das erste AWK mit rund 250 Teilnehmern ein großer Erfolg. Die Teilnehmerzahlen der Folgeveranstaltungen stiegen rapide. Heute blicken die Organisatoren auf mehr als 70 Jahre AWK zurück und damit auf über 70 Jahre richtungsweisender Impulse für die Produktionstechnik.

Bereits 1971 bemerkte Professor Herwart Opitz in seiner Eröffnungsrede: »Der Name Werkzeugmaschinen-Kolloquium trifft eigentlich heute nicht mehr so zu wie in früheren Zeiten. Die Integration der Produktionstechnik ist auf dem Vormarsch, und so haben wir uns mit den Fragen des wirtschaftlichen Planens, Konstruierens und Fertigens auseinanderzusetzen. Die Werkzeugmaschine ist ein Glied dieser Integrationskette, deren besondere Bedeutung nach wie vor herausgestellt werden soll.« Was er bereits vor fast 50 Jahren erkannt hatte, ist auch heute noch in vollem Umfang gültig.