Contact


Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr.-Ing. E. h.
Dr. h. c. Dr. h. c. Fritz Klocke
Professor, Director
Manfred-Weck-Haus 214
Tel.: +49 241 80-27401
Fax: +49 241 80-22359
Mail: F.Klocke@wzl.rwth-aachen.de

 

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Christian Brecher
Professor, Director
Manfred-Weck-Haus 213
Tel.: +49 241 80-27407
Fax: +49 241 80-22293
Mail: C.Brecher@wzl.rwth-aachen.de

 

Dr.-Ing. Dipl.-Wirt.-Ing.
Christoph Löpenhaus
Chief Engineer
Manfred-Weck-Haus 107
Tel.: +49 241 80-27416
Fax: +49 241 80-22293
Mail: C.Loepenhaus@wzl.rwth-aachen.de

 

Department
Gear Department

 

The research area of Gear Engineering works in close collaboration with the research areas of Machine Tools und Manufacturing Technology. It is the only research facility in Europe that works on all three relevant areas of gear technology - design, manufacturing and testing, providing integrated research and industrial solutions.
 
Brochure of WZL Gear Technology (.pdf)


Research Group Gear Manufacturing Technology


The Research Group Gear Technology and Manufacturing is dedicated to the area of expertise of gear manufacturing and is engaged in detail with nearly all gear manufacturing processes. This applies both to the generating process, as well as the finishing process. The different areas are researched in fundamental research projects as well as in industry projects.
Staff   Employment Ads   Machines

Research Group Gear Design and Manufacturing Simulation

The Research Group Gear Design and Manufacturing Simulation develops calculation programs for you. With these programs it is possible to find the best solution for often times contradictory requirements imposed by gear design and gear manufacturing processes. The emphasis lies on the areas of the simulation of gear manufacturing processes and the calculation of the performance of the gear. Therefore the business activities of the WZL gear group are perfectly complemented.
Staff    Employment Ads    Software


Research Group Gear Testing

The Research Group Gear Testing studies the performance of gears in terms of load carrying capacity and noise on state-of-the-art test rigs owned by WZL gear group. In every area of expertise the research objects are normal cylindrical gears, bevel gears as well as special gears like beveloid gears. The experimental activities are accompanied by extensive formulation of theoretical models to describe the excitation and load carrying capacity behavior within the gear design.
Staff    Employment Ads    Test Rigs


WZL Gear Research Circle (GRC)

The motivation of the WZL Gear Research Circle is to promote practically relevant projects, to participate actively in the formation of new main research projects and hence introduce industrial questions into research. As an outcome of this the goals of the WZL Gear Research Circle are to develop new technologies within the scope of communal research and to establish them at an early stage in industrial applications. Hereby the member companies gain a technology advance and ensure their leading position in the worldwide competition.


Our Seminars for you

WZL Gear Conference in the USA. Hosted by Klingelnberg, Ann-Arbor, Michigan, June 28th, 2016
Registration at Klingelnberg USA
Flyer of the WZL Gear Conference in the USA (.pdf)

Trends in Gear Soft Manufacturing, November 09 - 10, 2016
Registration at the WZLforum

Core Competencies of the WZL Gear Department

The close cooperation between the three groups in the field of gear technology has a long tradition at the WZL. From the holistic analytical approach resulting in the combination of manufacturing and construction, validated models and methods are developed in the gear technology, which would not have been possible with a singular approach. This enables the prudent handling of questions from industry in the past. The intensive cooperation between research groups has led to several core competences, which represents the added value of integrated approaches of manufacturing and engineering technology in gear research. For preparation of responses to existing research questions in each presented competence area, the capabilities of all research groups are bundled.

The services in the field of gear and transmission engineering include, among other topics, gear design and gear optimisation, as well as surface zone analysis of components.

Decades of research work carried out in the Gear Engineering department have yielded many outstanding dissertations in the field of gear technology.
 

 

Links


The „Gear-Team"

For more than 50 years the WZL has been addressing issues regarding gear technology. Currently, 24 employees, including 16 postgraduate research assistants, work at the WZL Gear Engineering department. They are supported by more than 20 student assistants. The focus of our work today is more or less equally subdivided into the areas of gear design, gear manufacturing and gear testing, as well as issues relating to all three.

Besides basic research work, we mainly focus on applied research topics. The results of our work are presented at our annual WZL Gear Conference in Aachen to the members of the WZL Gear Research Circle (GRC). Of central importance is the close collaboration with industry and applied research projects. We also develop solutions together with our industrial partners relating to concrete issues, and we assist in implementing these in an industrial context.

Publications on the topic of gear technology at the Chairs of Manufacturing Technology and Machine Tools

Kontakt


Prof. Dr.-Ing. Christian Brecher
Professor, Direktor
Manfred-Weck-Haus 213
Tel.: +49 241 80-27407
Fax: +49 241 80-22293
Mail: C.Brecher@wzl.rwth-aachen.de

 

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr.-Ing. E. h.
Dr. h. c. Dr. h. c. Fritz Klocke
Professor, Direktor
Manfred-Weck-Haus 214
Tel.: +49 241 80-27401
Fax: +49 241 80-22359
Mail: F.Klocke@wzl.rwth-aachen.de

 

Dr.-Ing. Dipl.-Wirt.-Ing.
Christoph Löpenhaus
Oberingenieur
Manfred-Weck-Haus 107
Tel.: +49 241 80-27416
Fax: +49 241 80-22293
Mail: C.Loepenhaus@wzl.rwth-aachen.de

 

Forschungsbereich
Getriebetechnik

 

Der Forschungsbereich Getriebetechnik steht in enger Verbindung zu den Forschungsbereichen Werkzeugmaschinen und Technologie der Fertigungsverfahren. Er ist damit europaweit der einzige Forschungsbereich, der auf allen drei relevanten Bereichen der Getriebetechnik - Auslegung, Fertigung und Prüfung - tätig ist und hierzu übergreifende Forschungs- und Industrielösungen anbietet.
 
Broschüre der WZL Getriebetechnik (.pdf)


Gruppe Technologie der Zahnradfertigung


Die Forschungsgruppe Technologie der Zahnradfertigung konzentriert sich auf das Fachgebiet der Zahnradfertigung und beschäftigt sich detailliert mit nahezu allen Verzahnprozessen. Dies gilt gleichermaßen für die Zahnradvorbearbeitung wie auch für die -feinbearbeitung. Die unterschiedlichen Themenbereiche werden von uns in grundlagenbezogenen Projekten als auch in Industrievorhaben erforscht.
Mitarbeiter   Stellenanzeigen   Maschinen

Gruppe Getriebeberechnung und Fertigungssimulation

In der Gruppe Getriebeberechnung und Simulation werden für Sie Berechnungsprogramme entwickelt, mit denen aus den oftmals gegensätzlichen Anforderungen bei der Auslegung von Verzahnungen und der Fertigungsprozesse, eine optimale Lösung gefunden werden kann. Hierbei liegen unsere Schwerpunkte auf den Bereichen Simulation der Zahnradfertigungsverfahren und der Berechnung des Einsatzverhaltens. Somit wird das Leistungsspektrum der Getriebeabteilung des WZLs in idealer Weise ergänzt.
Mitarbeiter   Stellenanzeigen   Software


Gruppe Getriebeuntersuchung

Die Gruppe Getriebeuntersuchung untersucht das Einsatzverhalten von Zahnrädern hinsichtlich Tragfähigkeit und Geräusch auf den modernen Prüfanlagen der Getriebeabteilung. Untersuchungsgegenstand sind in allen Kompetenzbereichen Stirnrad- und Kegelrad-, aber auch Sonderverzahnungen (z.B. Beveloidzahnräder). Die experimentellen Tätigkeiten werden ergänzt durch die umfangreiche Ausformulierung von theoretischen Modellansätzen zur Beschreibung des Anregungs- und Tragfähigkeitsverhaltens bereits im Auslegungsprozess.
Mitarbeiter   Stellenanzeigen   Prüfstände


WZL-Getriebekreis

Die Motivation des Getriebekreises liegt darin, praxisbezogene Projekte zu fördern, aktiv an der Gestaltung neuer Forschungsschwerpunkte mitzuwirken und damit industrierelevante Fragestellungen in die Forschung einfließen zu lassen. Daraus leiten sich die Ziele des Getriebekreises ab, neue Technologien im Rahmen der Gemeinschaftsforschung zu entwickeln und in der industriellen Praxis frühzeitig zu etablieren, um seinen Mitgliedsfirmen einen Technologievorsprung und damit eine führende Stellung im internationalen Wettbewerb zu sichern.


Unsere Seminare für Sie

WZL Getriebetagung in den USA (hosted by Klingelnberg), Ann-Arbor, Michigan, 28. Juni 2016
Anmeldung bei Klingelnberg USA
Flyer der WZL Getriebetagung in den USA (.pdf)

Grundlagenseminar Zahnrad- und Getriebetechnik, 12.-13. Oktober 2016
Anmeldung beim WZLforum

Aktuelle Entwicklungen beim Vorverzahnen, 09.-10. November 2016
Anmeldung beim WZLforum


Kompetenzbereiche Getriebetechnik

Die enge Zusammenarbeit der einzelnen Gruppen im Bereich der Getriebetechnik hat eine lange Tradition am WZL. Aus dem ganzheitlichen Analyseansatz resultierend aus der Kombination fertigungstechnischer und konstruktiver Lösungen werden validierte Modelle und Methoden in der Zahnrad- und Getriebetechnik entwickelt, die mit einer singulären Betrachtung nicht möglich sind. Dadurch wurde in der Vergangenheit eine umsichtige Bearbeitung von Fragestellungen aus der Industrie ermöglicht. Durch die intensive Kooperation der Forschungsgruppen haben sich mehrere Kompetenzbereiche entwickelt, die den Mehrwert des integrativen Ansatzes aus Produktions- und Konstruktionstechnik in der Getriebeforschung herausstellen. Zur Erarbeitung von Antworten auf bestehende Forschungsfragen werden in den nachfolgend vorgestellten Kompetenzbereichen die Fähigkeiten aller Forschungsgruppen gebündelt.

Zu den Dienstleistungen auf dem Gebiet der Zahnrad- und Getriebetechnik zählen u.a. Verzahnungsauslegung und Verzahnungsoptimierung, sowie die Randzonenanalyse von Bauteilen.

Aus der jahrzehntelangen Forschung in der Getriebeabteilung sind herausragende Dissertationen im Bereich der Getriebetechnik hervorgegangen.  

 

Links


Das „Getriebe-Team"

Fragen der Getriebetechnik werden am WZL seit über 50 Jahren behandelt. Derzeit arbeiten in der WZL-Getriebeabteilung 24 Mitarbeiter , davon 16 wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiter, die in ihrer Arbeit von mehr als 20 studentischen Hilfskräften unterstützt werden. Schwerpunkte unserer heutigen Arbeit liegen zu etwa gleichen Teilen auf den Gebieten Auslegung, Fertigung und Prüfung sowie übergreifenden Fragestellungen.

Neben Grundlagenuntersuchungen widmen wir uns schwerpunktmäßig industrienahen Forschungsthemen, die wir für nationale bzw. internationale Forschungsvereinigungen oder Industrieverbände durchführen. Die Ergebnisse unserer Arbeiten präsentieren wir auf der jährlich stattfindenden WZL-Getriebetagung den Mitgliedern des „WZL-Getriebekreises". Einen zentralen Punkt nimmt bei uns die Kooperation mit der Industrie und die anwendungsorientierte Industrieforschung ein. Hier erarbeiten wir gemeinsam mit unseren Industriepartnern Lösungen für konkrete Aufgabenstellungen und führen diese der industriellen Umsetzung zu.


Veröffentlichungen zum Thema 'Getriebetechnik' an den Lehrstühlen für Technologie der Fertigungsverfahren und Werkzeugmaschinen