"ImmPro" - Immersive production space

 



Content
Usually, university graduates have a strong analytical mindset. However, they often do not master the increasing demand to handle software programs and digital systems in practice situations. An understanding of general production-related contexts is also rare. For this reason, the manufacturing industry complains about the university education and the suitability of the graduates.
The aim of the research project "ImmPro", which is funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF), is thus the practically oriented design of production-related teaching and learning in university education. Students should be given the opportunity to gain practical experience in addition to the theoretical and practical learning experience and to receive an immediate learning feedback. Graduates should be better prepared for entering the profession.
The immersive production space is designed by combining real and virtual elements. A didactic concept for a cyberphysical learning environment has been developed, based on the practical experience of the companie Meissner AG and the curriculum of the master's course Werkzeugbau of the RWTH Aachen University. The concept developed is transferred into a learning software that communicates with the learners and integrates real machines. The immersive production space will be built, evaluated and optimized in the form of a demonstrator in the DFA demonstration factory Aachen.

Sponsor
BMBF - German Federal Ministry of Education and Research

Research Support
VDI/VDE Innovation + Technik GmbH
Project period: 05-01-2016 – 05-30-2019





Contact:
Margarete Stöwer, M.Sc.
Herwart-Opitz-Haus 53B 518
Tel.: +49 241 80-27387
Fax: +49 241 80-22293
Mail: M.Stoewer@wzl.rwth-aachen.de

„ImmPro“ – Immersiver Produktionsraum

 



Inhalt
Hochschulabsolventen besitzen in der Regel ein stark ausgeprägtes analytisches Denkvermögen. Die immer stärker nachgefragte Bedienung von Software-Programmen und digitalen Systemen in Praxissituationen beherrschen sie jedoch häufig nicht. Auch ein Verständnis von übergreifenden produktionstechnischen Zusammenhängen ist selten vorhanden. Aus diesem Grund bemängelt die produzierende Industrie die Hochschulausbildung und Eignung der Absolventen.
Das Ziel des vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) geförderten Forschungsprojekt „ImmPro“ ist daher die praxisnahe Gestaltung von produktionstechnischen Lehr- und Lernumfängen in der universitären Hochschulausbildung. Studierende sollen die Möglichkeit erhalten, neben den theoretischen auch praktische Lernerfahrungen zu sammeln und ein unmittelbares Lernfeedback zu erhalten. Hochschulabsolventen sollen so besser auf den Berufseinstieg vorbereitet werden.
Der immersive Produktionsraum wird durch die Verknüpfung von realen und virtuellen Elementen gestaltet. Auf den Praxiserfahrungen der Meissner AG und dem Curriculum des Masterstudiengangs Werkzeugbau der RWTH Aachen basierend wird ein didaktisches Konzept für eine cyberphysische Lernumgebung entwickelt. Das erarbeitete Konzept wird in eine Lernsoftware überführt, die mit den Lernenden kommuniziert und real vorhandene Maschinen integriert. Der immersive Produktionsraum wird in Form eines Demonstrators in der DFA Demonstrationsfabrik Aachen aufgebaut, evaluiert und optimiert.

Förderer
BMBF - Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung

Forschungsträger
VDI/VDE Innovation + Technik GmbH
Projektzeitraum: 01.05.2016 – 30.05.2019





Ansprechpartner:
Margarete Stöwer, M.Sc.
Herwart-Opitz-Haus 53B 518
Tel.: +49 241 80-27387
Fax: +49 241 80-22293
Mail: M.Stoewer@wzl.rwth-aachen.de