[Zur WZL-Startseite]
      Gear Department
WZL Gear Research Circle
  Home  >  Research  >  Gear Department
Suchanfrage starten
    Metrology and Quality  
    Production Engineering  
    Manufacturing Technology  
    Machine Tools  
    Gear Department  
      Gear Manufacturing  
      Gear Design  
      Gear Testing  
      Gear Research Circle  
      Surface zone analysis  
      Core Competencies  
    Research Activity  
  About WZL  


Gear and Transmission Research

History of the WZL Gear Research Circle
The Laboratory for Machine Tools and Production Engineering (WZL) at RWTH Aachen University is one of the leading research institutes in the field of production technology. The structure of WZL with its four chairs for Production Engineering, Manufacturing Technology, Machine Tools as well as Metrology and Quality Management is beneficial due to numerous synergy effects. Therefore gear and transmission research is conducted trans-sectoral since foundation of WZL.

Initiated by industrial companies the WZL Gear Research Circle has been founded in 1956 with the goal to push research in the field of gear and transmission forward. The WZL gear and transmission research is the first practiced combined research within gear and transmission technology, in which the industry is directly embedded to ensure high practical relevance of the research activities.

Current activities are focused on topics like:
- Increase of productivity by optimisation of technologies and development of new machining strategies
- Development and application of FE based software for exact calculation of gears and transmissions
- Studies on optimisation of tooth flank and root load carrying capacitiy
- Simulation of machining processes considering gear modifications and chip formation

Since the foundation of the WZL Gear Research Circle numerous companies benefit from the various potentials of the successful, application oriented research in transmission technology. An independent Gear Department has formed at WZL as a result of the research activities, which consists of employees from the chair of Manufacturing Technology and the chair of Machine Tools. Supported by the chair of Metrology and Quality Management all questions related to the gear technology are dealt with comprehensively.

Goals of the WZL Gear Research Circle
The motivation of the WZL Gear Research Circle is to promote practically relevant projects, to participate actively in the formation of new main research projects and hence introduce industrial questions into research. As an outcome of this the goals of the WZL Gear Research Circle are to develop new technologies within the scope of communal research and to establish them at an early stage in industrial applications. Hereby the member companies gain a technology advance and ensure their leading position in the worldwide competition.

The WZL Gear Research Circle Today
Today the member companies of the WZL Gear Research Circle represent a representative profile off the gear technology. Leading national and international companies in the field of automotive transmission systems, industrial gears, gear components, gear manufacturing and measuring machines are included as well as tool and coating technology suppliers. This trans-sectoral composition guarantees for continuous implementation of innovative and practical ideas from the drive technology.

The forum of the WZL Gear Research Circle is the advisory council meeting after the annual WZL gear conference in which the member companies have the chance introduce their suggestions and ideas into future projects and research activities.Furthermore the members can participate actively in the implementation of projects in the three fields of calculation and simulation, manufacturing as well as component and gear testing.

For its member companies the WZL Gear Research Circle is an instrument to promote new technologies neutral in respect of competition to a wide audience as well. As a result of the long standing and close collaboration of its members the Gear Research Circle furthermore offers the possibility to attach new business relations and to deepen existing customer contacts. The international orientation of the WZL Gear Research Circle satisfies the needs of increasing globalisation of the markets.

The WZL Gear Conference
A permanently installed platform for an active exchange of experience and a close cooperation of the WZL Gear Research Circle is the annual gear conference which takes place in the Eurogress in Aachen, Germany. The newest findings from the field of the gear technology are presented to the member companies during two days by the employees of the WZL gear department. The presentations are completed by a panel discussion in which actual questions of the gear technology are discussed from the point of the industrial users involving the gear research circle members.

A permanent component of the Gear Conference is also the presentation of our software, the visit of the WZL shop floor as well as a multitude of different test rigs for researches into noise and load carrying capacity. Especially in the environment of these presentations and visits numerous interesting discussions with both the representatives of industry and the employees of the WZL are initiated. With actually more than 250 participants from Europe and worldwide the WZL Gear Conference is an approved and at the same time one of the biggest annual events in gear technology in Europe for more than 50 Years.

Research activities of the WZL Gear Department
Inimitable in Europe intense research is conducted in the fields of gear design, gear manufacturing, gear measuring methods and gear testing by the Gear Department. A special characteristic of this work is the integrated consideration of gear technology from the design over manufacturing and test methods to the gear performance. The persistent examination of fundamental and praxis orientated topics concerning the whole chain of development, manufacturing and testing within one institution is unique.

Considering all relevant areas of gear technology synergy effects can be used and integrated solutionscan be offered, which are specified to the demands of the member companies of the WZL Gear Research Circle. Together with our partners we work on bilateral solutions for special tasks. At the same time we conduct research projects with industrial unions (VDW/FWF, FVA, AGMA...). Further research activities are conducted in the scope of publicly funded projects. These are for example research projects of the DFG, BMBF, AiF, BriteEuram, Craft, etc. Additionally the capital resources of the Gear Research Circle allow us picking up interesting topics short term. You can take an overview about the key aspects of the research projects from our information brochure of the WZL Gear Department.

Additional services of the WZL Gear Research Circle
Beside the already mentioned advantages of a membership in the WZL Gear Research Circle, the membership offers these additional achievements to you:
- Favoured participation in events of the WZL Gear Research Circle as a consultant or participant (WZL Gear Conference, seminars, Workshops...)
- Company-specific educations and consultancies
- Considerable improved access to all programs of the WZL software pool
- Creation of newer and well adapted to the specific necessities of the member of the WZL Gear Research Circle software products
- Early and favoured consideration with the co-design of national and international research projects
- Short run execution of bilateral research projects to special conditions
Contents of such research projects can be for example:
- Design of gears and production processes with modern software
- Studies of chipping for different technologies
- Evaluation and optimisation of processes and process chains
- Estimation of mechanisms of damage in the gear tooth system
- Analysis of the noise behaviour in proving grounds or locally
- Experimental studies of tooth flank and root load carrying capacitiy

Member Companies
Have a look at the list of our international industry Partners in the WZL Gear Research Circle

Research Topic Form

Our Events
Trends in Gear Soft Manufacturing November 9-10, 2016
Registration at WZLforum

Innovations in Worm Gear Technology April 5-6, 2017
Registration at WZLforum

WZL Gear Conference May 10-11, 2017
Registration only for members of the WZL Gear Research Circle

Gear Finishing Technology November 8-9, 2017
Registration at WZLforum

Innovations in Bevel Gear Technology March 14-15, 2018
Registration at WZLforum

Your Contacts
For questions and further information about the WZL Gear Research Circle, please contact Dipl.-Wirt.-Ing. Christoph Löpenhaus, the chief engineer of the WZL Gear Department, or Tim Frech M.Sc., the administrator of the WZL Gear Research Circle.
You can contact us by:
Phone +49/241/80-27416 (Dr.-Ing. Dipl.-Wirt.-Ing. Christoph Löpenhaus)
Phone +49/241/80-25371 (Tim Frech M.Sc.)
Fax +49/241/80-22293


Laboratory for Machine Tools and Production Technology
Aachen University
Gear Department
Chair of Machine Tools
Prof. Dr.-Ing. C. Brecher
Phone +49 / 241 / 80-27407

Chair of Manufacturing Technology
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr.-Ing. E.h. Dr. h.c. Dr. h.c. Fritz Klocke
Phone +49 / 241 / 80-27401

Steinbachstraße 19
52074 Aachen
  © WZL • RWTH Aachen • 18 October 2016 • ContactDirectionsImprintDisclaimer

Getriebetechnik
WZL-Getriebekreis

 

Arbeitskreis 'Zahnrad- und Getriebeuntersuchungen' (WZL Getriebekreis)

Historie des Getriebekreises
Das Laboratorium für Werkzeugmaschinen und Betriebslehre (WZL) der RWTH Aachen ist im Bereich der Produktionstechnik weltweit eines der führenden Forschungsinstitute. Die Struktur des WZL mit seinen vier Lehrstühlen aus den Bereichen Produktionssystematik, Fertigungstechnologie, Werkzeugmaschinen sowie Fertigungsmesstechnik und Qualitätsmanagement erlaubt es, zahlreiche Synergieeffekte zu nutzen. So wird Forschung auf dem Gebiet der Zahnrad- und Getriebetechnik seit Gründung des WZL bereichsübergreifend praktiziert.

Auf Initiative von Industriefirmen wurde 1956 der WZL-Getriebekreis mit dem Ziel gegründet, gemeinsam die Forschung auf dem Gebiet der Verzahnungs- und Getriebetechnologie voranzutreiben. Die WZL-Getriebeforschung stellt damit die erste praktizierte Gemeinschaftsforschung in der Getriebe- und Antriebstechnik dar, bei der die Industrie zur Sicherstellung eines hohen Praxisbezugs der Forschungsaktivitäten direkt eingebunden ist.

Im Mittelpunkt der dabei durchgeführten Arbeiten stehen heute Themen wie
- Produktivitätssteigerung durch Technologieoptimierung und Entwicklung neuer Bearbeitungsstrategien
- Entwicklung und Einsatz von FEM-Programmen zur exakten Getriebe- und Zahnradberechnung
- Untersuchungen zur Optimierung der Zahnflanken- und Zahnfußtragfähigkeit
- Simulation von Fertigungsprozessen unter Berücksichtigung von Verzahnungsmodifikationen und Spanbildung

Seit der Gründung des WZL-Getriebekreises nutzen zahlreiche Firmen die vielfältigen Möglichkeiten der erfolgreichen, anwendungsorientierten Forschung im Bereich der Getriebetechnik. In Folge dieser Arbeiten entstand eine eigenständige WZL-Getriebeabteilung, die sich lehrstuhlübergreifend aus Mitarbeitern der Lehrstühle Technologie der Fertigungsverfahren und Werkzeugmaschinen zusammensetzt. Unterstützt vom Lehrstuhl für Qualitätsmanagement und Fertigungsmesstechnik werden so übergreifend aktuelle Fragen rund um die Getriebetechnik in einer Hand bearbeitet.

Ziele des Getriebekreises
Die Motivation des Getriebekreises liegt darin, praxisbezogene Projekte zu fördern, aktiv an der Gestaltung neuer Forschungsschwerpunkte mitzuwirken und damit industrierelevante Fragestellungen in die Forschung einfließen zu lassen. Daraus leiten sich die Ziele des Getriebekreises ab, neue Technologien im Rahmen der Gemeinschaftsforschung zu entwickeln und in der industriellen Praxis frühzeitig zu etablieren, um seinen Mitgliedsfirmen einen Technologievorsprung und damit eine führende Stellung im internationalen Wettbewerb zu sichern.

Der Getriebekreis heute
Die Mitgliedsfirmen des Getriebekreises repräsentieren heute einen umfassenden Querschnitt der Getriebetechnik, aus führenden nationalen und internationalen Unternehmen der Bereiche Fahrzeug- und Industriegetriebe, Getriebekomponenten, Verzahnungs- und Verzahnungsmessmaschinen sowie Werkzeug- und Beschichtungstechnologien. Diese bereichsübergreifende Zusammensetzung ist Gewähr für die kontinuierliche Umsetzung innovativer und praxisrelevanter Ideen aus der Antriebstechnik.

Das Forum des Getriebekreises ist die im Anschluss an die jährliche WZL-Getriebetagung stattfindende Beiratssitzung, auf der die Mitgliedsfirmen ihre Anregungen und Ideen in zukünftige Projekte und Forschungsvorhaben einbringen. Darüber hinaus können die Mitglieder in den Arbeitsgruppen zu den drei Bereichen Berechnung und Simulation, Fertigung sowie Bauteil- und Getriebeuntersuchungen aktiv an der Umsetzung dieser Projekte mitarbeiten.

Für seine Mitgliedsfirmen ist der WZL-Getriebekreis gleichzeitig auch ein Instrument, um neue Technologien wettbewerbsneutral einer größeren Öffentlichkeit darzustellen. Aufgrund der langjährigen und engen Zusammenarbeit seiner Mitglieder bietet der Getriebekreis ferner die Möglichkeit, neue Geschäftsbeziehungen zu knüpfen und bestehende Kundenkontakte zu vertiefen. Der zunehmenden Globalisierung der Märkte wird der Getriebekreis durch die bewusst international angelegte Ausrichtung gerecht.

Die Getriebetagung
Eine fest installierte Plattform für einen regen Erfahrungsaustausch und ein enges Zusammenwirken des WZL-Getriebekreises ist die jährlich stattfindende Getriebetagung im Eurogress der Stadt Aachen. Auf dieser werden den Mitgliedsfirmen an zwei Tagen neueste Erkenntnisse aus dem Bereich der Getriebetechnik von den Mitarbeitern der WZL-Getriebeabteilung vorgestellt. Abgerundet werden die Vorträge durch eine Podiumsdiskussion, bei der unter Einbeziehung der Getriebekreismitglieder aktuelle Fragestellungen der Antriebstechnik aus der Sicht der industriellen Anwender erörtert werden.

Ein fester Bestandteil der Getriebetagung ist ebenfalls die Präsentation unserer Software, die Besichtigung der WZL-Halle mit ihrem Maschinenpark sowie des WZL-Neubaus mit einer Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Prüfstände für Geräusch- und Tragfähigkeitsuntersuchungen.
Gerade im Umfeld dieser Präsentationen und Besichtigungen ergeben sich zahlreiche, interessante Fachgespräche sowohl unter den Industrievertretern als auch mit den Mitarbeitern des WZL.
Mit derzeit über 250 Industrievertretern aus dem In- und Ausland ist die Getriebetagung seit nahezu 50 Jahren eine anerkannte und gleichzeitig eine der größten jährlich wiederkehrenden Veranstaltungen zur Getriebetechnik in Europa.

Forschungsaktivitäten der WZL-Getriebeabteilung
Europaweit einzigartig wird in der WZL-Getriebeabteilung intensive Forschungsarbeit auf den Gebieten Getriebe- und Verzahnungsauslegung, Zahnradfertigung, Zahnradmesstechnik und Untersuchung des Einsatzverhaltens von Zahnrädern und Getrieben betrieben. Besonderes Kennzeichen dieser Arbeiten ist die ganzheitliche Betrachtung der Zahnrad- und Getriebetechnik von der Konstruktion über die Fertigung und Messtechnik bis hin zu dem Einsatzverhalten. Die in einer Forschungseinrichtung durchgängige Behandlung von grundlagenorientierten und praxis-bezogenen Aufgabenstellungen über die gesamte Entwicklungs- und Verfahrenskette ist in dieser Form einmalig.

Durch die Berücksichtigung aller dieser relevanten Bereiche der Getriebetechnik können Synergieeffekte genutzt und ganzheitliche Problemlösungen angeboten werden, die stark auf die Bedürfnisse der Mitgliedsfirmen des Getriebekreises zugeschnitten sind. Gemeinsam erarbeiten wir mit unseren Partnern bilateral Lösungen für konkrete Aufgabenstellungen. Gleichzeitig führen wir mit Industrievereinigungen (VDW/FWF, FVA, AGMA, ... ) Forschungsprojekte durch. Weitere Forschungsthemen werden im Rahmen von öffentlich geförderten Vorhaben bearbeitet. Hierzu zählen zum Beispiel Forschungsvorhaben der DFG, BMBF, AiF, BriteEuram, Craft, usw. Zusätzlich erlauben uns die finanziellen Eigenmittel des Getriebekreises interessante Themenstellungen kurzfristig aufzugreifen. Einen Überblick über die Schwerpunkte der Forschungsinhalte können Sie unserer Informationsbroschüre zur WZL-Getriebeabteilung entnehmen.

Zusätzliche Leistungen des Getriebekreises
Neben den bereits angeführten Vorteilen einer Mitgliedschaft im Getriebekreis bietet diese Ihnen zusätzlich folgende Leistungen:
- bevorzugte Teilnahme an Veranstaltungen des Getriebekreises als Referent oder Teilnehmer (Getriebetagung, Seminare, Workshops, ...)
- firmenspezifische Schulungen und Beratungen
- deutlich vergünstigter Zugriff auf alle Programme des WZL-Softwarepools
- Erstellung neuer, an die speziellen Bedürfnissen der Getriebekreismitglieder angepasster Softwareprodukte
- frühzeitige und bevorzugte Berücksichtigung bei der Mitgestaltung von nationalen und internationalen Forschungsvorhaben
- kurzfristige Durchführung bilateraler Forschungsprojekte zu Sonderkonditionen

Inhalte solcher Forschungsprojekte können beispielsweise sein:
- Auslegung von Getrieben und Fertigungsprozessen mit moderner Software
- Zerspanuntersuchungen zu verschiedenen Technologien
- Bewertung und Optimierung von Prozessen und Prozessketten
- Beurteilung von Schadensmechanismen in der Verzahnungstechnologie
- Analyse des Geräuschverhaltens im Versuchsfeld oder vor Ort
- Prüfstandsuntersuchungen zur Zahnfuß- und Zahnflankentragfähigkeit

Mitgliedsfirmen
Die aktuelle Liste der Mitgliedsfirmen finden Sie hier.

Downloads
Formular Themenvorschlag

Unsere Veranstaltungen
Grundlagenseminar Zahnrad- und Getriebetechnik 28. - 29. März 2017
Anmeldung beim WZLforum

Innovationen rund ums Schneckengetriebe 5. - 6. April 2017
Anmeldung beim WZLforum

WZL-Getriebetagung 10. - 11. Mai 2017
Anmeldung nur für Mitglieder des WZL-Getriebekreises

WZL Gear Conference in the USA hosted by Liebherr, Saline, MI July 18-19, 2017
Registration

Grundlagenseminar Zahnrad- und Getriebetechnik 6. - 7. September 2017
Anmeldung beim WZLforum

Feinbearbeitung von Zahnrädern 8. - 9. November 2017
Anmeldung beim WZLforum

Innovationen rund ums Kegelrad 14. - 15. März 2018
Anmeldung beim WZLforum

WZL-Getriebetagung 16. - 17. Mai 2018
Anmeldung nur für Mitglieder des WZL-Getriebekreises

WZL-Getriebetagung 5. - 6. Juni 2019
Anmeldung nur für Mitglieder des WZL-Getriebekreises


Ihr Ansprechpartner
Für Fragen und weitere Auskünfte zum WZL-Getriebekreis stehen Ihnen der Oberingenieur der WZL-Getriebeabteilung, Herr Dipl.-Wirt.-Ing. Christoph Löpenhaus, sowie der Betreuer des WZL-Getriebekreises, Herr Tim Frech M.Sc., gerne zur Verfügung. So können Sie uns erreichen:
Telefon +49/241/80-27416 (Dr.-Ing. Dipl.-Wirt.-Ing. Christoph Löpenhaus)
Telefon +49/241/80-25371 (Tim Frech M.Sc.)
Telefax +49/241/80-22293

E-Mail:
gears@wzl.rwth-aachen.de
WWW:
http://www.getriebekreis.de
http://www.wzl.rwth-aachen.de

Werkzeugmaschinenlabor
der RWTH Aachen
Getriebeabteilung
Lehrstuhl für Werkzeugmaschinen
Prof. Dr.-Ing. C. Brecher
Telefon +49 / 241 / 80-27407

Lehrstuhl für Technologie der Fertigungsverfahren
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr.-Ing. E.h. Dr. h.c. Dr. h.c. Fritz Klocke
Telefon +49 / 241 / 80-27401

Steinbachstraße 19
D - 52074 Aachen