New Business Models

 

In the research field New Business Models we develop approaches for the quality-oriented (re)design and implementation of business models, referring to an organization’s basic functioning, and transfer these approaches into practice. With the objective to enlarge the value creation particularly for industrial enterprises and their customers, we design innovative technology-based solutions in cooperation with our associated partners from industry and academia. Through our quality-oriented approach in combination with expertise in the field of emerging technologies (e.g., smart wearables, sensors, beacons) we enable organizations to remain competitive in a highly interconnected world. Our focus topics are:

  • Reconfiguration and Selection of Business Models
    Depending on an organization’s lifecycle stage we either reconfigure its business model or enable an informed business model choice. For established organizations we elaborate opportunities for a quality-oriented business model reconfiguration (e.g., servitization) based on a status quo analysis and future strategic positioning. The required transformations are planned and conducted in accordance with existing organizational structures to assure a continuous evolution process towards future. For recently founded organizations, we enable the selection of quality-oriented business models that fit an organization’s particular situation and future perspective.
  • Creation of Coherent Narratives
    The successful implementation of business models strongly depends on the coherence of their underlying narratives as they evoke sense-making processes in customers and employees. Our interdisciplinary team adopts a holistic approach in creating coherent narratives for the implementation and communication of quality-oriented business models by linking all research fields of the department Organizational Development. This guarantees that theoretical models become organizational reality.

New Business Models

 

Im Themenfeld New Business Models entwickeln wir Konzepte für die qualitätsorientierte (Um)Gestaltung und Umsetzung von Geschäftsmodellen – welche die grundlegende Funktionsweise von Organisationen beschreiben – und setzen diese Konzepte in die Praxis um. In Zusammenarbeit mit unseren assoziierten Partnern aus Industrie und Wissenschaft entwerfen wir innovative und technologieorientierte Lösungen, um insbesondere für Industriebetriebe und deren Kunden die Wertschöpfung auszubauen. In einer stark vernetzten Welt ermöglichen wir es Organisationen durch unseren qualitätsorientierten Ansatz in Verbindung mit Fachkenntnissen auf dem Gebiet neuer Technologien (z. B. Smart Wearables, Sensoren, Beacons), wettbewerbsfähig zu bleiben. Unsere Schwerpunktthemen sind:

  • Umgestaltung und Auswahl von Geschäftsmodellen
    Das Geschäftsmodell einer Organisation wird entweder in Abhängigkeit der Phase des Lebenszyklus umgestaltet oder – unter Berücksichtigung aller Informationen – die Auswahl eines neuen Geschäftsmodells ermöglicht. Für etablierte Organisationen erarbeiten wir Potenziale für eine qualitätsorientierte Geschäftsmodellumgestaltung (z. B. Servitization) auf Basis einer Analyse des Status quo und der zukünftigen strategischen Positionierung. Um einen kontinuierlichen Weiterentwicklungsprozess zu gewährleisten, werden die erforderlichen Transformationen in Einklang mit den bestehenden Organisationsstrukturen geplant und durchgeführt. Für neu gegründete Organisationen ermöglichen wir die Auswahl qualitätsorientierter Geschäftsmodelle, die ihrer gegenwärtigen Situation und den zukünftigen Perspektive entsprechen.
  • Entwicklung von zusammenhängenden Narrativen
    Die erfolgreiche Umsetzung von Geschäftsmodellen hängt stark von der Stimmigkeit ihrer zugrundeliegenden Narrativen ab, da sie sinnstiftende Prozesse in Kunden und Mitarbeitern hervorrufen. Unser interdisziplinäres Team verfolgt bei der Umsetzung und Kommunikation von qualitätsorientierten Geschäftsmodellen einen ganzheitlichen Ansatz unter Verknüpfung aller Themenfelder der Abteilung Organizational Development. Dies garantiert, dass theoretische Modelle organisatorische Realität werden.