Information on Studies
Student Assistants at the WZL

 

Career at the WZL

The career of many a successful engineer began long before a graduate or PhD certificate was issued to them. For many, it began as a student assistant at the WZL or IPT. The formal definition of a "student assistant" (German abbreviation: Hiwi) is a student who, following completion of the intermediate examination (Vordiplom) at a university institute that leads to a graduate degree (Diplom), works between 11 and 19 hours per week at a university institute within the framework of an official work contract.

Besides the payment - some students have financed a large part of their studies with the money - the student assistant job actually provides early professional experience - at least it does at the WZL and IPT.

This is because being a student assistant at the WZL or IPT means being included in research projects, carrying out independent supervision of tests, as well as having the opportunity to write seminar papers and degree dissertations within the framework of research projects. Student assistants at the WZL or IPT come into contact early on with the industrial world and, within the framework of research projects, can check the feasibility of their own ideas for finding solutions to challenges that arise in industry.

In this way, many student assistants became familiar with their future workplace during their studies. Experienced industrial practitioners like to keep a close eye on the work of young student assistants, and frequently make concrete job offers to the assistants long before they have completed their studies.

It is certainly advantageous in later interviews if initial experience with the industrial world has already been gained as a student assistant and if achievements in the area of research or other additional qualifications may be presented that student assistants almost inevitably acquire.



Currently the WZL and IPT have more than 500 student assistants. We are always looking for additional support for diverse research projects. Job offers for student assistants may be found on the notice boards or the information stand for seminar papers and degree dissertations on the 3rd floor of the WZL. Postgraduate research assistants and chief engineers at the WZL and IPT would also be happy to provide information.

Here you can find the student assistant positions currently on offer.

Studieninfo
HiWi am WZL

 

Karriere am WZL

Die Karriere eines manchen erfolgreichen Ingenieurs begann nicht etwa erst mit dem Abschluss des Studiums oder der Promotion, sondern in vielen Fällen schon viel früher: als Hiwi am WZL oder IPT. Hinter dem Kurzwort Hiwi verbirgt sich der (die) im Beamtendeutsch "Studentische Hilfskraft" genannte Student(in), der (die) nach Absolvierung des Vordiploms an einem Hochschulinstitut im Rahmen eines offiziellen Arbeitsvertrages zwischen 11 und 19 Wochenstunden an den Instituten mitarbeitet. 

Abgesehen von der Bezahlung - manch eine(r) finanziert damit große Teile des Studiums - bietet der Hiwi-Job tatsächlich einen frühzeitigen Einstieg in die berufliche Praxis - zumindest am WZL und IPT. 

Denn: Hiwi-Sein am WZL oder IPT bedeutet Einbeziehung in Forschungsprojekte, selbständige Betreuung von Versuchen sowie die Möglichkeit zur Erstellung von studentischen Arbeiten im Rahmen von Forschungsprojekten. Als Hiwi am WZL oder IPT kommt man schon früh in Kontakt mit der Arbeitswelt in der Industrie und kann im Rahmen von Forschungsvorhaben die Umsetzbarkeit eigener Ideen zur Lösungsfindung von Problemen in die betriebliche Praxis selbst überprüfen.

Hierbei hat mancher Hiwi schon während des Studiums seinen späteren Arbeitsplatz kennengelernt. Die erfahrenen Praktiker in der Industrie beobachten sehr genau die Arbeit der jungen Hiwis und machen nicht wenigen schon konkrete Arbeitsplatzangebote noch bevor das Studium abgeschlossen ist. 

Sicherlich wirkt es sich auch bei späteren Einstellungsgesprächen positiv aus, wenn man erste Erfahrungen mit der Arbeitswelt schon als Hiwi sammeln konnte und eigene Leistungen im Bereich der Forschung oder sonstige Zusatzqualifikationen nachweisen kann, die man als Hiwi fast zwangsläufig erwirbt.




An WZL und IPT sind derzeit mehr als 500 Hiwis tätig. Ständig werden zusätzliche Kräfte für die verschiedensten Forschungsprojekte gesucht. Stellenangebote für Hiwis befinden sich an den sogenannten "Schwarzen Brettern" oder im Internet. Natürlich geben auch die Assistenten und Oberingenieure an WZL und IPT gerne Auskunft.

Hier finden Sie die aktuell angebotenen HIWI - Stellen